Information Literacy

As I was surfing the internet this week, I came across the blog of Michael Lorenzen, The Information Literacy Land of Confusion.  Michael has an interesting persepective on the world of education, from a librarian’s viewpoint. 

In searching his blog, I came across an older post that really got me thinking about my own school.  In Parents Paying for Library Instruction, Michael tells the tale of schools who have used discretionary funds from Parents and PTA’s to fund their school library.  I remember going to library when I was in elementary school and middle school.  We learned the Dewey Decimal System.  We learned how to search for books.  We learned how to look things up in Encycolpedias and Dictionaries.  And when I send my own students to the Library every Monday right after lunch, they sit on the floor and watch a Charlie Brown movie or they listen to a story.  There is no librarian teaching them how to use the library.  There is just a paraprofessional reading a story or pushing the play button.  Now, I realize the Dewey Decimal System may be out of date.  But shouldn’t my students be learning about search engines and online encyclopedic resources?  Maybe we should come up with a new fundraiser to improve the library program…

-Melissa

0 Responses to “Information Literacy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 270,567 hits

Curriki Global Community Member

Curriki Home Page
Add to Technorati Favorites

Twitter

Cluster Maps


