Yahoo! Answers

Last weekend I met up with my friend Christine, a former classmate of mine at Teachers College and coworker at the Teachers College EdLab. Christine and I share many things in common, a love of Japanese food, experience teaching English in Japan and a desire to find all things cool, useful and free on the Internet. Christine mentioned to me that while trying to figure out what language was used to build Netflixs, she discovered Yahoo! Answers:

With more than 21 million unique users in the U.S. and 90 million worldwide, Yahoo! Answers is the largest knowledge-sharing community on the Web. It’s an online community where anyone can ask and answer questions on any topic. Yahoo! Answers connects people to the information they’re seeking with those who know it. Everyone has life experience and knowledge about something, and Yahoo! Answers provides a way for people to share their experience and insight.

I was immediately intrigued and embarrassed that I hadn’t heard of Yahoo! Answers before, so right after finishing my yummy bowl of ramen, I took the subway home to check it out. One minute into my exploration, I was hooked, especially to the section on primary and secondary education. There are tons of questions on the site that I think teachers will find an interesting read, such as:

1) How can I get literature circles up and running in my first grade classroom?

2) In reading comprehension strategies, what is meant by a self monitoring lesson?

3) Where can I buy big books?

4) Is there a forum where teachers in India can get ideas for lesson plans or share ideas related to teaching?

I look forward to reading your questions on Yahoo! Answers. Check out Yahoo! Teachers too! -Anna

0 Responses to “Yahoo! Answers”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 270,567 hits

Curriki Global Community Member

Curriki Home Page
Add to Technorati Favorites

Twitter

Cluster Maps


