Helpful Resources for Finding and Creating Classroom Blogs

Creating a classroom blog is a wonderful way to help your students develop their reading, writing and technology literacy skills. As an education consultant and trainer based in the Middle East, I work with teachers both locally and abroad to develop and incorporate technology tools into the classroom. Below is a document I put together this afternoon for a training session I am delivering next month. Feel free to use the document and share it with friends! I welcome you to share links to your own classroom blogs in the comments section of this post! To view the original document I posted on Scribd, click here.

Cheers,

Anna

P.S. To view a large size copy of the handout below, click the gray/white box on the upper right-hand corner of the Scribd toolbar. When you mouse over the gray/white box you should read “toggle full screen.” Click that!

add to del.icio.us : Digg it : Stumble It! : : post to facebook

5 Responses to “Helpful Resources for Finding and Creating Classroom Blogs”


  1. 1 Lynette May 8, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Hi Anna,
    Thank you for the wealth of information! It was extremely helpful. I do have a couple of questions. Can I set up a classroom blog for only my students to use? Also, how can I make blogging safe for my students and convince my administrator it is safe?

  2. 2 readinggal May 11, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Hello Lynette! Great questions! You can set up a classroom blog for only your students to use. In fact, why not set up a classroom social network that includes individual student blogs on Ning? With Ning you can create a site that only your students can view and/or use.

    As for convincing your administrator, take a look at the ISTE advocacy resources and Edutopia and Teacher TV videos on incorporating technology tools into the classroom. They will help give you and your administrator a vision for how tools such as blogs and podcasts can be used for educational purposes.

    Finally, for tips on Internet safety, visit this site:

    http://www.k12science.org/internetsafety.html

    Let me know how it goes!
    Anna

  3. 3 Lynette May 14, 2009 at 1:20 am

    Anna,

    Thank you for responding. I have not heard about Ning. I will have to investigate Ning.

    Once school is out I will sit and talk with my administration about Blogging for next year. I will show them a couple of the sites you mentioned. I am hoping they will see it can be of benifical to the students. I will let you know how it turns out.


  1. 1 How to make a Classroom Blog on Wordpress « Literacy is Priceless Trackback on June 10, 2009 at 7:39 pm
  2. 2 Module 4: Blogs + Library of Congress « ISTE Puerto Rico Training Blog Trackback on June 23, 2009 at 5:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 256,854 hits

Curriki Global Community Member

Curriki Home Page
Add to Technorati Favorites

Twitter

Top Clicks

Cluster Maps


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

