Livemocha: Free online language courses

Learning to speak, read and write in Japan was a humbling experience! As an English and literacy teacher during the day, I had the luxury of speaking my native language, but the second I stepped out of school, my language (and charades) skills were instantly put to the test. I remember writing an email to my father early on during my experience abroad stating, “I feel like I’ve lost one of my vital senses. I am surrounded by symbols and have no clue what they mean.”

Looking back on my time in Japan, I am so thankful for the experience it provided me of having to learn a new language. I am also eternally grateful for the patience my Japanese teachers afforded me as I hacked through short passages written in hiragana, katakana and kanji. Now, when I watch a young child learn to read letters and symbols for the first time, I have a whole new appreciation for the seemingly difficult, yet ultimately rewarding challenges involved in this complex task.

Perhaps you’ve always wanted to try learning a second language? Or, perhaps you want to remember what it feels like to learn how to read again? Today, I discovered a free website that allows you to do just that!

Livemocha is a website that contains free courses in Spanish, German, English, Hindi, French and Mandarin! Check it out and remember what it is like to learn how to read again!

Anna

add to del.icio.us : Digg it : Stumble It! : : post to facebook

3 Responses to “Livemocha: Free online language courses”


  1. 1 BryanH February 22, 2008 at 1:24 am

    Thanks for the mention! Japanese on Livemocha is coming soon!

  2. 2 Jon Bischke February 26, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Thanks Anna. Livemocha is a really impressive site. We’ve recently launched something that is designed to help people achieve fluency after they mastered some of the basics. Check it out at eduFire.com. (Drop me a line and I’ll hook you up with a comped session. :))

  3. 3 readinggal February 27, 2008 at 2:24 am

    Hi Jon. I love your language learning blog! Great resource!

    http://blog.edufire.com/

    Anna =)


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 257,367 hits

Curriki Global Community Member

Curriki Home Page
Add to Technorati Favorites

Twitter

Cluster Maps


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

