A FREE Curriculum Guide for Reading Mentors

Thanks Just Read Florida for sharing A Curriculum Guide for Reading Mentors! I particularly like the free worksheets/charts that start on page 175 of the guide, including poems, the weekly planning chart for independent student reading, the reciprocal teaching chart, the blank speed drill and more! -Anna

3 Responses to “A FREE Curriculum Guide for Reading Mentors”


  1. 1 okayama February 10, 2008 at 3:46 am

    Hi! I’d appreciate help and advice from anyone. I have been teaching English in Japan for 3 years. Now I’m planning to finish my contract and come home to Florida in the summer. I have seriously been thinking of getting my Master’s degree to become a Reading Teacher. But, honestly I am not exactly sure what a Reading Teacher does. A long time ago I was a Reading Tutor. Am I correct in assuming a Reading Teacher does some tutoring? What else does a Reading Teacher do? Do you get to deal with the students often, or only paperwork and tests? Also, do you think I should start school right away, or be a classroom teacher in America for at least a year first (my B.S. is in Early Childhood Ed but I never taught in America)? I really need guidance, so I am eagerly looking forward to your replies. Thanks!

  2. 2 Mary May 19, 2008 at 11:27 am

    Okayama,
    Your post is from February and I’m not sure if anyone has responded, but I teach early reading skills and this website has really helped me.
    If you go to the TampaReads website – http://www.tampareads.com you will see what is involved to teaching children to read. Also find information on phonemic skills. These are the skills that come before being able to read such as rhyming, beginning sounds, alphabet letters, nonsense words, ect.
    I hope this helps. I wish you luck in the USA

  3. 3 sandrar September 11, 2009 at 1:27 am

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 255,459 hits

Curriki Global Community Member

Curriki Home Page
Add to Technorati Favorites

Twitter

Cluster Maps


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

