A free early literacy resource to pass along…

Since this is my second official post, I suppose I should introduce myself as well!

My name is Anna and I work at Wireless Generation, a New York-based education technology company that focuses on developing early literacy and math instructional tools and curricula. As a developer of early literacy products, I spend a lot of time in K-3 classrooms across the United States observing teachers working with budding readers. I then take ideas and feedback from teachers back to my office where I work with a team of developers to create useful products that help teachers teach young children how to read. Before becoming a product developer, I taught early literacy classes to children and English conversation classes to adults in Osaka, Japan.

I would like to share with you a web site that is near and dear to my heart, as I have been working on it for the past year with my colleagues, as well as with many teachers across the States, but particularly in New York…

www.Free-Reading.net is a free online early literacy program that helps educators teach early literacy skills—in particular phonics and phonological awareness. The activities and sequences can be used to support a typical core or basal program or as part of word study time for teachers using a balanced literacy curricula. In addition, the site provides an opportunity for teachers to share their great ideas and activities.

Here are a few links on the site that I think literacy teachers will find particularly useful:

I hope you enjoy the site!

3 Responses to “A free early literacy resource to pass along…”


  1. 1 thirdgradeteacher January 13, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Thanks for all of these resources!

  2. 2 Laurie August 27, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    Hi Anne,

    I just wanted to let you know that I loved this website so much that I wrote a review/article about it at Bright Hub. I like to spend time at this blog. Like I said before, I think that it is wonderful. One day while on the blog, I saw this message and followed the link to Free Reading. Well, I just couldn’t believe it. I listened to the webinar to learn more about the program and I tried to summarize it in my article as best as I could. The program is absoulutely amazing and I cannot wait to pass it along to other teachers. You can read my article here:

    http://www.brighthub.com/education/k-12/reviews/5489.aspx

    I hope that you enjoy it.

    Best Regards, Laurie

  3. 3 readinggal August 28, 2008 at 12:07 am

    Thanks Laurie! Your comment made my day. FreeReading is a project that is near and dear to my heart. I only hope that more teachers will find the site not only to use the resources, but to share their own ideas and best practices!

    Have a great day and thanks for sharing a link to Bright Hub!!!

    Anna


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 255,360 hits

Curriki Global Community Member

Curriki Home Page
Add to Technorati Favorites

Twitter

Top Clicks

  • None

Cluster Maps


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

